Former Eurovision star among the line-up for Malta Eurovision Song Contest 2022

December 29, 2021


The Maltese broadcaster have revealed the names of the 22 acts and songs that will be competing in next years edition of Malta Eurovision Song Contest, and there are quite a few familiar faces among the line-up.

The semi final is expected to take place in February. Sixteeen of the twenty two acts will advance to the final, with the winner being determined by a mix of televote and jury vote.

Your Face Sounds Familiar...

Among the line-up, we see former Malta Eurovision Song Contest participants alongside Eurovision and Junior Eurovision acts. Janice Mangion, Raquel Briffa, Jade Vella, and Aidan Cassar have all previously participated in Malta Eurovision Song Contest.

Nicole Azzopardi sang “Knock Knock Boom Boom” at the Junior Eurovision Song Contest 2010 in Minsk. More recently, she auditioned for X Factor Malta 2018, which was eventually won by Michela.

Jessika Muscat represented San Marino at Eurovision 2018 alongside Jennifer Brening. They sang “Who We Are” in the second semi final, finishing in 17th place. Jessika has also been a regular participant in Malta Eurovision Song Contest, having participated ten times already.

Richard Micallef, the lead singer of Firelight, the band which represented Malta in Eurovision 2014, is back once again to Malta Eurovision Song Contest, this time as a soloist with a self-penned song. In 2018, he participated in Malta Eurovision Song Contest with his father, Joe. Together, they finished in second place.

Malta Eurovision Song Contest returns to screens for the first time since 2018. In 2019 and 2020, the island nation turned to the X Factor franchise to find their Eurovision acts, whilst Destiny was re-selected in 2021 after the cancellation of the 2020 contest.

Are you excited for Malta Eurovision Song Contest 2022? Which songs are you most looking forward to hearing? Let us know in the comments below!

One Response

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *