37 countries to participate in the Eurovision Song Contest 2023

October 20, 2022


The European Broadcasting Union has announced that 37 countries will take part in the Eurovision Song Contest 2023, being held in Liverpool.

The list is as follows:

  • Albania (RTSH)
  • Armenia (ARMTV)
  • Australia (SBS)
  • Austria (ORF)
  • Azerbaijan (Ictimai)
  • Belgium (RTBF)
  • Croatia (HRT)
  • Cyprus (CyBC)
  • Czech Republic (ČT)
  • Denmark (DR)
  • Estonia (ERR)
  • Finland (Yle)
  • France (FT)
  • Georgia (GPB)
  • Germany (ARD/NDR)
  • Greece (ERT)
  • Iceland (RÚV)
  • Ireland (RTÉ)
  • Israel (IPBC/KAN)
  • Italy (RAI)
  • Latvia (LTV)
  • Lithuania (LRT)
  • Malta (PBS)
  • Moldova (TRM)
  • The Netherlands (AVROTROS)
  • Norway (NRK)
  • Poland (TVP)
  • Portugal (RTP)
  • Romania (TVR)
  • San Marino (SMRTV)
  • Serbia (RTS)
  • Slovenia (RTVSLO)
  • Spain (TVE)
  • Sweden (SVT)
  • Switzerland (SRG SSR)
  • Ukraine (UA:PBC)
  • United Kingdom (BBC)

As reported earlier, the Big 5 (France, Germany, Italy, Spain and United Kingdom) and current champions Ukraine will automatically receive a spot in the grand final taking place on 13 May, while the rest will compete in the semi finals on 9 May and 11 May

No debuts or returns, but three withdraws

This year’s contest will see no returns or debuting countries. The Junior Eurovision producer for Kazakhstan said the country had “every chance” to compete in the adult version, but that sadly hasn’t happened.

However we will see three countries withdraw from last year’s contest with Bulgaria, Montenegro and North Macedonia all not taking part next year in Liverpool.

37 countries means this year’s contest has the smallest amount of participating countries since 2014, which had the same amount. 

What do you think of next year’s participating countries? Let us know in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *