Tonight: Norway and Spain select for Eurovision, Supernova and Melodifestivalen begin, and more

February 4, 2023


Tonight sees five national finals and one song reveal in preparation for Eurovision 2023.

Tonight, Lithuania, Norway and Spain continue on with their national selections for Eurovision 2023, whilst Latvia and Sweden begin theirs with the first semi final of Supernova and Melodifestivalen taking place respectively.

Alongside this, we have the official reveal of Joker Out’s Eurovision 2023 entry for Slovenia, “Carpe Diem” during a live stream on rtvslo that starts at 18:30 CET. The song will be released on the official Eurovision YouTube channel at 20:45 CET.

The winner takes it all

Tonight, we will be getting Norway’s and Spain’s entry’s for Eurovision 2023, as the final of Melodi Grand Prix and Benidorm Fest take place in Trondheim and Benidorm respectively.

In Norway, a total of nine acts will be taking part in the Melodi Grand Prix final. The final results will be decided by 50% televote and 50% international jury vote, with the jury being comprised of members from ten countries across Europe.

The show will be broadcast live on nrk at 19:50 CET, and is expected to finish at 22:20 CET.

  • Jone – Ekko Inni Meg
  • Eline Thorp – Not Meant To Be
  • Skrellex – Love Again
  • Ulrikke Brandstorp – Honestly
  • Unami Tsunami – Geronimo
  • Atle Pettersen – Masterpiece
  • Swing’it – Prohibition
  • Elsie Bay – Love You In A Dream
  • Alessandra – King of Queens

Over in Benidorm at the Palau Municipal d’Esports l’Illa de Benidorm, the stage is set for eight acts to battle it out to be crowned not only the winner of Benidorm Fest, but Spain’s Eurovision 2023 representative. The show is expected to run from 22:00 to 23:55 CET.

The hosts for the show are Inés Hernand, Mónica Naranjo and Rodrigo Vázquez. The winner will be decided by 50% jury vote, 25% demoscopic jury and 25% televote.

  • Karmento – Quiero y duelo
  • Megara – Arcadia
  • Alice Wonder – Yo quisiera
  • Fusa Nocta – Mi familia
  • Agoney – Quiero arder
  • Blanca Paloma – Eaea
  • José Otero – Inviernos en Marte
  • Vicco – Nochentera

Let's start at the very beginning...

Latvia and Sweden both kick off their national selections for Eurovision 2023 tonight with the start of Supernova and Melodifestivalen. In both countries, we will see heat/semi final one taking place, in Vilnius and Gothenburg respectively.

14 songs will be competing in Supernova’s semi final tonight, with the final results being decided by 50% jury and 50% televote. The show will be hosted live by Ketija Šēnberga and Lauris Reiniks from 20:10 to 23:00 CET, and is available to watch live on ltv. You can also download the LTV app for Android and iOS.

  1. Artūrs Hatti – “Love Vibes”
  2. Alise Haijima – “Tricky”
  3. Inspo – “Sway”
  4. Toms Kalderauskis – “When It All Falls”
  5. Katrine Miller – “Beaten Down”
  6. Justs – “Stranger”
  7. Adriana Miglāne – “Like I Wanna”
  8. 24. Avēnija – “You Said”
  9. Markus Riva – “Forever”
  10. Avéi – “Let Me Go”
  11. Patrisha – “Hush”
  12. Raum – “Fake Love”
  13. Luīze – “You to Hold Me”
  14. Sudden Lights – “Aijā”

Heat one of Melodifestivalen 2023 takes place from Scandinavium, Gothenburg. The show will be hosted live by Jesper Rönndahl and Farah Abadi from 20:00 to 21:30 CET. It is available to watch on SVT Play, and via the official SVT apps on Android and iOS. The final results will be decided by 100% televote.

  • Tone Sekelius – “Rythym Of My Show”
  • Loulou Lamotte – “Inga Sorger”
  • Rejhan – “Haunted”
  • Elov & Benny – “Raggen går
  • Victor Crone – “Diamonds”
  • Eva Rydberg & Ewa Roos – “Länge leve livet
  • Jon Henrik Fjällgren & Arc North ft. Adam Woods – “Where You Are (Sávežan)”

Semi final one of Pabandom iš naujo takes place live in Vilnius from 21:00 – 22:50 EET, and will be available to watch on LRT online and via the Android and iOS apps. The final results will be decided by a mix of jury and televote.

  1. Il Senso – “Sparnai”
  2. Alen Chicco – “Do You”
  3. Baiba – “When the Lights Go Out”
  4. Joseph June – “Vacuum”
  5. Noy – “Destiny’s Child”
  6. Petunija – “Love of my life”
  7. Justė Kraujelytė – “Need More Fun”
  8. Gabrielius Vagelis – “Šauksmas”
  9. Rūta Mur – “So Low”
  10. Donata – “Dreamer”

Which national finals are you most looking forward to tonight? Which acts do you think will represent Norway and Spain? Let us know what you think in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *