Taking the ‘Slow Lane’ for Christmas? James Newman releases new single with Armin Van Buuren!

December 20, 2020


The UK’s Eurovision 2020 participant James Newman has teamed up with Dutch DJ Armin van Buuren on new single Slow Lane. The single is written by both James Newman and Armin van Buuren, alongside song writers Benno De Goeij, Taylor Ann Fowlis and Alan Walker. James has previously collaborated with Armin van Buuren on Therapy and High On Your Love. 

James Newman isn’t the only Eurovision participant to work with the Dutch DJ. Eurovision 2019 winner Duncan Laurence collaborated with Armin van Buuren on the song Feel Something, which featured on Laurence’s debut album Small Town Boy. 

Who is James Newman?

James Newman is a British singer and songwriter from Settle, North Yorkshire but is now based in London. At the 2014 Brit Awards, he won the Brit Award for British Single of the Year as a co-writer on Rudimental’s single Waiting All Night. 

James also has song writing credits on a number of popular artist’s music including Calvin Harris, Rudimental, Jess Glynne, Little Mix, Olly Murs, Kaiser Chiefs, Kesha and former Eurovision participants Brendan Murray and Guy Sebastian. 

The BBC teamed up with record label BMG in 2020 to select the UK’s Eurovision entry and James was internally selected with My Last Breath. Unfortunately due to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic the contest was cancelled, and it is yet to be confirmed if James will be back for 2021.

What are your thoughts on Slow Lane? Would you like to see James Newman back in 2021? Let us know in the comments below or on our social media!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.