Melodifestivalen final to be broadcast with English commentary

March 10, 2021


For the first time ever in history, one national selection is going to have a commentary in the English language. Having in mind that Melodifestivalen is definitely the most popular and the most successful national selection, providing two winners and six top 10 finishes in the past 10 years, it is watched worldwide. This is very helpful for the foreign spectators, since most of them don’t speak Swedish.

This year, the commentators will be Bella Qvist and Olivia Le Poidevin. Bella is Swedish and has lived in the United Kingdom, where she has worked as a freelance journalist for many press outlets, including The Guardian.

Bella admitted:

“I am so happy to be part of this exciting new venture that welcomes both old and new non-Swedish-speaking viewers to the wonderful world of Melodifestivalen.”

Olivia is from the United Kingdom, where she works and a journalist and presenter on BBC Radio. She is very well-known in the Eurovision community.

Olivia revealed:

“I have always been impressed by the quality of the contributions that Melodifestivalen and Sweden send to Eurovision. And this year, when the world needs Eurovision more than ever, it feels fantastic to be part of guiding the rest of the world through a fantastic evening.”

Anette Brattström, Project Manager for Melodifestivalen further explained:

“Broadcasting the Melodifestivalen final with English live commentary is a completely new chapter for how we can reach more people with Melodifestivalen, both inside and outside of Sweden.”

The Grand Final

The Grand Final of Melodifestivalen 2021 will take place this Saturday, March 13th in Stockholm. It will be hosted by Christer Björkman accompanied by Shima Niavarani and Eurovision 2015 winner Måns Zelmerlöw.

The 12 artist that managed to qualify direct till final or through the andra chansen:

1. Danny Saucedo – Dandi dansa
2. Klara Hammarström –Beat Of Broken Hearts
3. Anton Ewald – New Religion
4. The Mamas – In The Middle
5. Paul Rey – The Missing Peace
6. Charlotte Perrelli – Still Young
7. Tusse – Voices
8. Alvaro Estrella – Baila Baila
9. Clara Klingenström – Behöver Inte Dig Idag
10. Eric Saade – Every Minute
11. Dotter – Little Tot
12. Arvingarna – Tänker inte alls gå hem

The winning entry will be determined by the mix of jury and the televote. The final result combines 50% of both of them. The winner will represent Sweden in the Eurovision Song Contest 2021 in Rotterdam. Sweden will compete in the first semi-final on May 18th

Are you happy about this good news? Who are you rooting for this Saturday? Let us know down below! 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.