Here are the hosts of Melodifestivalen 2021!

January 5, 2021


Today, SVT finally have revealed the hosts of Melodifestivalen 2021! 

The Melfest general himself Christer Björkman, who has been in charge of the contest for the past 20 years, will be hosting all of the 6 shows alongside new hosts every week. All shows will be aired from Annexet in Stockholm. This also happens to be his last year in charge of the contest. 

For the first semifinal on the 6th of February, Björkman will be joined by Lena Philipsson. Philipsson has been a part of Melodifestivalen many times before, both as an artist and as a host. In 2004 she won the whole contest and represented Sweden in Eurovision with the song It Hurts, finishing 5th. She also hosted Melodifestivalen in 2006.

In the second semifinal on the 13th of February, Christer Björkman will be joined by Oscar Zia and Anis Don Demina. Oscar Zia has competed in Melfest before, last time in 2016 with the song “Human” which finished 2nd place in the Melfest final.  Anis Don Demina is also not new to Melodifestivalen, finishing 5th in the Melfest final last year with his hit “Vem e som oss”. 

The third semifinal takes place on the 20th of February and then Björkman will be joined by no other than Jason “Timbaktu” Diakité! He may be new to the Melfest stage, but in Sweden he is a famous singer, having released hits like Alla vill till himlen men fÃ¥ vill ju dö.

The fourth semi final will be occuring on the 27th February, with  Christer Björkman being joined by the comedian Per Andersson. Andersson has been a part of intermisson acts in Melfest before, including the artist introduction that aired before each performance back in 2011, but this will be his first time hosting the show. 

For Andra Chansen (the second chance round) on the 6th of March, Björkman will be joined by the Melfest veteran Shirley Clamp. After participating in 2003, she got her big break in Melodifestivalen back in 2004 with the song Min Kärlek, where she came 2nd behind fellow host Lena Phillipson and has since competed three more times, in 2005, 2009 and 2011. 

Finally, for the Melfest final on the 13th of March, Björkman will be joined by no other then the Eurovision winner Måns Zelmerlöw and the actress, director and singer-songwriter Shima Niavarani. 

Zelmerlöw is a very famous face in both Melfest and Eurovision circles, having both won and hosted both Melodifestivalen in 2010 and Eurovision Song Contest in 2016. Niavarani, however, is new to the Melodifestivalen stage, but is probably the most famous in Sweden for her theatre work, having performed in over 40 shows. 

Sweden in Eurovision

Since making its debut in the 1958 contest, Sweden has taken part in 59 editions. For every edition since 1959 Sweden has used their popular national final format Melodifestivalen. Sweden has 6 Eurovision wins, in 1974, 1984, 1991, 1999, 2012 and Sweden’s latest win was in 2015 with Måns Zelmerlöw’s Heroes. On top of 6 wins, Sweden also has one second place and six three places. Sweden hosted the contest 6 times as well, in 1975, 1985, 1992, 2000, 2013 and 2016. Some of Sweden’s most memorable entries from Sweden include Waterloo (1974), Popular (2011) and Undo (2014). The Mamas won Melodifestivalen 2020 and were due to sing their song Move in Rotterdam before the contest got cancelled.

What is your opinion on the Melodifestivalen hosts of 2021? Comment down below! Follow Eurovoxx on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and YouTube for more Eurovision news! 


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.