LISTEN: Oskr releases UMK entry “Lie”

January 13, 2021


The first of seven entries in this years Uuden musiikin kilpailu (UMK) has been released by Finnish broadcaster YLE, and it’s “Lies” by Oskr. The song has been composed by Oskr himself, alongside Joonas Angeria and David Pramik, with Heikki Slåen writing the lyrics.

Oskr, real name Oskari Ruohonen, is a Finnish singer-songwritter from Turku, southwest Finland, who is the son of Teppo Ruohonen, part of the popular duo, Matti and Teppo, alongside his Uncle, Matti Ruohonen. Oskr has had success not only as a soloist, but as part of bands such as Yournalist and Traffic Island. Oskr usually writes and produces his own songs, but sometimes teams up with his brother, Santeri. 

A total of seven acts will be competing in UMK 2021, including 2020 winner Aksel Kankaanranta and two times Eurovision representative for Estonia, Laura Põldvere. Starting from today, all seven songs will be revealed, every other day, at 23:00 CET on YLE Areena, YouTube and all other major streaming services up until January 22nd. The UMK final will take place on February 20th in Tampere, where the nation’s Eurovision 2021 entry will be decided by 75% televote and 25% international jury vote.

What do you think of Oskr’s song? Would you like to see Oskr at Eurovision? Let us know in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.