Dora 2021: voting system explained

February 5, 2021


A few days ago Croatian Broadcaster HRT revealed a new voting system for its national final, which will take place on the 13th of February. Fourteen songs will compete at this years DORA in Opatija to try and represent their country in Rotterdam.

Jury and televoting will still have the same importance (50% Jury, 50% televoting), however instead of five regions, which were represented by the juries (Varaždin & Čakovec, Zagreb, Rijeka, Split and Osijek), the number of regions will double up this year. Vukovar, Pula, Zadar, Knin & Šibenik and Dubrovnik will be added to the list. Each region will consist of three professional juries.

This is not the only element which is going to differ from last year’s system. Last year, the maximum number of points that could be awarded from either televoting or jury was 16. This year it’s going to be 120! Each region will give the Eurovision set of points (1-8, 10, 12), and then a total of 580 points from the televoting is going to be split between, hopefully, all participants.

The artist who will receive the most amount of points and the trophy of Dora 2021 will represent Croatia in the second half of the first semi final of the Eurovision Song Contest 2021. In case of a tie, like for example last year, the decision made by the televoting will be the final decision.

Are You a fan of Croatia in Eurovision? Which artists do you root for from this year’s Dora? Let us know in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.