Composers for Festival da Canção 2023 revealed

November 9, 2022


The composers for next years edition of Festival da Canção have been revealed.

The 20 composers were revealed on A Nossa Tarde on RTP1 earlier today. Among the line-up are some familiar names, including former Festival da Canção and Eurovision acts.

  • André Henriques
  • April Ivy
  • Bandua
  • Bárbara Tinoco
  • Churky
  • Cláudia Pascoal
  • Dapunksportif
  • Edmundo Inácio (public submission)
  • Inês Apenas (public submission)
  • Ivandro
  • Jacinta
  • Mimicat (public submission)
  • MOYAH (public submission)
  • Quim Albergaria
  • SAL
  • Teresinha Landeiro
  • The Happy Mess
  • Voodoo Marmalade (public submission)
  • You Can’t Win Charlie Brown

Eurovision fans will remember Cláudia Pascoal, who won Festival da Canção and went on to represent her country on home soil at Eurovision 2018 with “O Jardim”, composed by Isaura.

Bárbara Tinoco is also returning to Festival da Canção, this time as a composer. She finished in second place behind Elisa in 2020 with “Passe-Partout”.

It is possible that we could see some of these composers taking to the Festival da Canção stage, as all composers can decide if they want to sing their own songs, or if they would prefer for someone else to sing it for them.

Save the date!

Alongside the reveal of the Festival da Canção 2023 composers, the Portuguese broadcasters also gave us key dates.

  • January 19th – the 20 competing songs will be available to listen to
  • 25th February – semi final 1
  • 4th March – semi final 2
  • March 11th – grand final

The most recent winner of Festival da Canção is Maro, who won the 2022 edition with “Saudade, Saudade”. She went on to bring Portugal back into the Eurovision grand final top 10 for the first time since 2017, finishing in 9th place.

Are you excited for Festival da Canção 2023? Which Portuguese singers would you like to see in next years Festival? Let us know in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *