The Winner Takes It All… Again

| August 9, 2020

Winning the Eurovision Song Contest can be a once in a lifetime opportunity for artists… except for when it’s not. Over the years there have been a number of former winners who have gone back to chase victory again, with varying degrees of success:

Lys Assia

1956 Switzerland – Refrain, 1st Place

1957 Switzerland – L’enfant que j’étais, =8th Place

1958 Switzerland – Giorgio, 2nd Place

Corry Brokken

1957 The Netherlands – Net als toen, 1st Place

1958 The Netherlands – Heel de wereld, =9th Place

Jean-Claude Pascal

1961 Luxembourg – Nous les amoureux, 1st Place

1981 Luxembourg – C’est peut-être pas l’Amérique, 11th Place

Isabelle Aubret

1962 France – Un Premier Amour, 1st Place

1968 France – La Source, 3rd Place

Gigliola Cinquetti

1964 Italy – Non ho l’età, 1st Place

1974 Italy – Sì, 2nd Place

Anne-Marie David

1973 Luxembourg – Tu te reconnaîtras, 1st Place

1979 France – Je suis l’enfant soleil, 3rd Place

Izhar Cohen

1978 Israel (with Alphabeta) – A-Ba-Ni-Bi, 1st Place

1985 Israel – Olé, Olé, 5th Place

Johnny Logan

1980 Ireland – What’s Another Year, 1st Place

1987 Ireland – Hold Me Now, 1st Place

 Niamh Kavanagh

1993 Ireland – In Your Eyes, 1st Place

2010 Ireland – It’s For You, 23rd Place

Dana International

1998 Israel – Diva, 1st Place

2011 Israel – Ding Dong, DNQ (15th Place in Semi Final 2)

Charlotte Nielson

1999 Sweden – Take Me To Your Heaven, 1st Place

2008 Sweden (as Charlotte Perrelli) – Hero, 18th Place

Alexander Rybak

2009 Norway – Fairytale, 1st Place

2018 Norway – That’s How You Write A Song, 15th Place


2010 Germany – Satellite, 1st Place

2011 Germany – Taken By A Stranger, 10th Place

There have also been numerous winners, who have taken the trophy on subsequent attempts:

Udo Jürgens

1964 Austria – Warum nur, warum?, 6th Place

1965 Austria – Sag ihr, ich lass sie grüßen, 4th Place

1966 Austria – Merci, Chérie, 1st Place

Vicky Leandros

1967 Luxembourg – L’amour est bleu, 4th Place

1972 Luxembourg – Après Toi, 1st Place

Elisabeth Andreasson

1982 Sweden (as part of Chips) – Dag efter dag, 8th Place

1985 Norway (with Bobbysocks!) – La Det Swinge, 1st Place

1994 Norway (with Jan Werner Danielsen) – Duett, 6th Place

1996 Norway – I Evighet, 2nd Place


1983 Sweden – Främling, 3rd Place

1991 Sweden – Fångad av en stormvind, 1st Place

2006 Sweden – Invincible, 5th Place

Linda Martin

1984 Ireland – Terminal 3, 2nd Place

1992 Ireland – Why Me?, 1st Place

Helena Paparizou

2001 Greece (as part of Antique) – (I Would) Die For You, 3rd Place

2005 Greece – My Number One, 1st Place

Dima Bilan

2006 Russia – Never Let You Go, 2nd Place

2008 Russia – Believe, 1st Place

Who is your favourite returning winner? Which former winner would you like to see return to the contest? Let us know in the comments.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Eurovoxx Youtube Channel