Malta have chosen 12 finalists for their Junior Eurovision 2020 national final

| September 2, 2020

After closing their submissions window last week, all submissions were reviewed a panel of judges, who have now shortlisted 12 acts who will go on to perform in Malta’s national final for Junior Eurovision 2020, where the winner will be decided by a mix of 50% televoting and 50% jury voting. The names of the 12 finalists have been confirmed by Maltese television network TVM

  • Anneka Xerri – “Moving”
  • Chanel Monseigneur – “Chasing Sunsets”
  • Emma Cutajar – “Modern Day Cinderella”
  • Isaac Tom – “Beside Me”
  • Kaya Gouder Curmi – “Made of Stars”
  • Leah Cauchi – “Anġli” (Angels)
  • Leah Mifsud – “Anywhere”
  • Mariah Cefai – “Change the Silence”
  • Michela Caruana – “Replay”
  • Mychael Bartolo Chircop – “The Child from Inside”
  • Yulan Law and Gianluca Cilia – “Deck of Cards”
  • Zaira Mifsud and Eksenia Sammut – “Only Live Once”

A familiar name in the line up of finalists is Gianluca Cilia, who achieved 9th place for Malta in Junior Eurovision 2017 with the song “Dawra Tond”. If he wins the national final, he will be the third returning artist (and first male returnee) in Junior Eurovision, after Katya Ryabova in 2011 and Lerika in 2012.

Throughout the first two weeks of September, all 12 acts will perform their songs in front of a jury. These performances will be filmed and then broadcast on TVM, as well as social media, so that the public can vote for their favourites alongside the jury. The voting will open in mid September and will remain open until the end of the month, when the winner will be revealed.

Are you excited for Malta’s Junior Eurovision national final? Which song are you most looking forward to hearing? Let us know in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Eurovoxx Youtube Channel