Junior Eurovision 2020 contestants will perform in studios from their own countries

| September 8, 2020

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, which forced the cancellation of Eurovision 2020, the EBU has decided to modify the format of Junior Eurovision 2020 to avoid its cancellation. This year, and for the first time in history, the participants will perform from their own countries.

The 18th Junior Eurovision Song Contest will be hosted live from Warsaw in a studio with all presenters and necessary crew socially distancing. Interval acts will also perform live from Warsaw. However, to protect the health of all the artists, and to ensure the competition can still take place in a fair and safe way, all the competing songs will be performed in a studio in each participating country.

To ensure continuity and the fairness of the competition, EBU members in the participating countries have agreed to use a similar stage layout and technical set up to capture the performance of their artists.

A total of 13 countries will participate in Junior Eurovision 2020 under the slogan “Move the World”: Armenia, Belarus, France, Germany, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Malta, The Netherlands, Russia, Serbia, Spain and Ukraine and hosts Poland.

Despite the distance, the Junior Eurovision digital platforms will provide opportunities for all young singers taking part in the competition to share their experiences and perform together. There will also be coverage of preparations in their home countries and the chance for viewers at home to interact with the participants.

The Junior Eurovision Song Contest 2020 will be broadcast live on 29 November and more details about it will be revealed in the coming weeks.

What do you think about this big change in the Junior Eurovision Song Contest? Do you think this change will also happen at Eurovision 2021? Let us know what you think in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Eurovoxx Youtube Channel