January 28th: Etapa Națională begins, Melodi Grand Prix and Pabandom iš naujo continue whilst Söngvakeppnin acts and songs are revealed

January 28, 2023


Tonight sees the start of Etapa Națională, the continuation of Melodi Grand Prix and Pabandom iš naujo, and an Icelandic reveal!

Today we will see Moldova starting off their journey to Eurovision 2023 with auditions for Etapa Națională, whilst Norway and Lithuania continue their journey with heat 3 of Melodi Grand Prix and heat 2 of Pabandom iš naujo respectively.

Alongside these shows we will also see Iceland announcing their acts and songs for this years Söngvakeppnin, ahead of the first semi final on February 18th.

Etapa Națională

Today is the day that Moldova takes the first step in finding their representative for Eurovision 2023 with live auditions for Etapa Națională. 

A total of 31 acts will be taking part in the auditions round, which will take place at 14:00 EET. It will be available to watch live on Moldova 2. 10 acts will advance to the final, decided by 100% jury voting. These 10 acts will be revealed at 19:30 EET on Moldova 1.

Melodi Grand Prix

Heat 3 of Norway’s Melodi Grand Prix will be broadcast live from Screen Studios in Nydalen, Oslo from 19:50 to 21:15 CET. It will be available to stream live on nkr.no. The final seven acts will be competing for the last three places in the final, which will be held on February 4th.

  • Akuvi – “Triumph”
  • Tiril Beisland – “Break It”
  • Skrellex – “Love Again”
  • Eline Thorp – “Not Meant To Be”
  • Stig van Eijk – “Someday”
  • Maria Celin – “Freya”
  • Atle Pettersen – “Masterpiece”

Pabandom iš naujo

A further 15 acts will be competing in Lithuania’s Pabandom iš naujo heat 2, with 10 of these acts advancing to the semi final. The heat will not be live; it was recorded on January 24th at LRT Studios in Vilnius.

The show will be broadcast from 21:00-22:50 EET and will be available to watch on the official LRT website. You can also livestream the show via the LRT app on Android and iOS.

  1. Antikvariniai Kašpirovskio dantys – “Sėdi ir važiuoji” (Sit down and drive)
  2. I. T. – “Žinau, tai tu” (I know it’s you)
  3. Donata – “Dreamer”
  4. Matt Len – “Midnight Train”
  5. Melona – “Song of Whispers”
  6. Monika Linkytė – “Stay”
  7. The PiXLS – “Šaukt” (Shout out)
  8. Viktorija Faith – “If You Ever Miss Me”
  9. Agnė – “New Start”
  10. Gebrasy – “Saw Your Ghost”
  11. MoonBee – “Rumor”
  12. Voldemaras Petersonas – “Things”
  13. Petunija – “Love of My Life”
  14. Beatrich – “Like a Movie”
  15. Mario Junes – “Do What You Do”


The artists and songs that will be competing in this years edition of Söngvakeppnin will be revealed by the Icelandic broadcaster tonight. After the show, all of the competing entries will be available to listen to on ruv.is. The official RÚV app is available on Android and iOS.

Which shows are you most looking forward to seeing today? Are you excited for the reveal of the Icelandic songs? Let us know in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *