18 facts about The Junior Eurovision Song Contest

| October 26, 2020

The 18th edition of The Junior Eurovision Song Contest will be hosted from Warsaw, Poland, on November 29th 2020. So to celebrate this, we bring you 18 facts about the contest we’ve all grown to know and love.

1. Since the show began in 2003, there have been 5 male winners, 12 female winners, 2 winning groups and 1 winning duo.

2. Belarus and The Netherlands are the only two countries that have participated in every single contest since 2003. And Belarus even made their Junior Eurovision debut before their Eurovision debut in 2004!

3. Since the very first Junior Eurovision in 2003, a total of 266 songs have been performed across 18 contests.

4. The first contest was held in Copenhagen, Denmark on November 15th, 2003. It was hosted by Camilla Ottessen and Remee, and was won by 11 year old Dino Jelusić from Croatia.

5. Between 2003 and 2007, the maximum people allowed on stage for each performance was 8. This was then lowered to 6 in 2008, and has remained this way ever since.

6. Malta, The Netherlands and Ukraine are the only three countries so far to have hosted the contest more than once. They have all hosted twice. Once the 2020 contest comes around, Poland will join them as a fourth country to have hosted more than once.

7. Lerika is the only person to have sung for two different countries in Junior Eurovision. In 2011, she sang “No No” for Moldova, finishing in 6th place and achieving Moldova’s best Junior Eurovision placing. She returned a year later with the song “Sensatsiya”, which finished in 4th place for Russia.

8. Georgia holds the record for most Junior Eurovision wins. They have won the contest 3 times. Their first win was in 2008 with the group Bzikebi and their song “Bzz”. A second win followed in 2011 from girl group Candy and their song “Candy Music”. Mariam Mamadashvli is Georgia’s most recent winner, taking the title in 2016 with her song “Mzeo”.

9. The 2018 contest saw the highest number of participating countries – 20, whilst the 2012 and 2013 contest saw the lowest number of participating countries at just 12.

10. The highest number of points any country has received in the contest is 278, which was achieved by Viki Gabor in 2019 as she stomped to victory on home soil with “Superhero”. The lowest score a country has received from voting nations is 1 point. Croatia only received 1 point from San Marino in the 2014 contest.

11. In the 2007 and 2008 contests, 100% of all of the profits made from the contest were donated to UNICEF.

13. Wales and Kazakhstan are the only countries that has only participated in Junior Eurovision only, and not Eurovision.

Wales made their Junior Eurovision debut in 2018 with Manw and her song “Perta”. They returned a year later with “Calon Yn Curo” sung by Erin-Mae.

Kazakhstan also made their Junior Eurovision debut in 2018 when Daneliya Tuleshova finished in 6th place with “Ózińe sen”. Yerzhan Maksim won the jury vote and finished in second place overall in 2019 with his song “Armanyńnan qalma”.

12. Since making their debut in 2007, a total of 10 singers with the name Mariam have sung for Georgia. In 2007, Georgia was represented by Mariam Romelashvelli. In 2008, the two female members of the group Bzikebi were Mariam Kikuashvili and Mariam Tatulashvili. In 2009, two members of the group Princesses were Mariam Bokeria and Mariam Gurgenizde. In 2010, Mariam Kakhelishvili sang for Georgia. In 2011, Mariam Gvaladze sang as part of girl group Candy. In 2013, Mariam Shavladze and Mariam Samushia sang as part of the group The Smile Shop. In 2016, Mariam Mamadashvili won the contest for Georgia.

14. In the 2003, 2004 and 2005 contests, Sweden were represented by a female duo. Each of these duos finished in 15th place.

15. Denmark and Spain are the only two countries that have never finished outside the top 5. Denmark achieved 5th place in 2003 and 2004 whilst finishing in 4th place in 2005. Spain finished in first place in 2004, second place in 2003 and 2005, third place in 2019 and fourth place in 2006.

16. Armenia has the strongest overall record in Junior Eurovision. With seven top 3 finishes, (which includes one win in 2010), and never finishing outside of the top 10, this puts Armenia as one of the most successful countries in Junior Eurovision.

17. Since the first contest in 2003, a total of 38 countries have participated in Junior Eurovision at least once. Belarus and The Netherlands have been present at every contest, whilst Switzerland have only participated once, in 2004.

18. A total of eight Junior Eurovision participants have gone on to sing at Eurovision. The Tolmachevy twins, who won Junior Eurovision 2006 finished in 7th place for Russia at Eurovision 2014. Michele Perniola (2013) and Anita Simoncini (member of The Peppermints from 2014) sang for San Marino in 2015. Monica Avanesyan (Armenia 2013) was a backing vocalist for Iveta at Eurovision 2016. O’G3NE, who represented The Netherlands on home soil in Rotterdam at Junior Eurovision 2007 returned to Eurovision 10 years later in Kiev with their song “Lights and Shadows”. Nevena Božović, who holds Serbia’s best Junior Eurovision score, was part of the group Moje 3 in 2013 before going solo in 2019 with her song “Kruna”. Both Destinty, winner of Junior Eurovision 2015 for Malta and Stefania (The Netherlands 2016) returned to Eurovision 2020, and after the cancellation of the contest, were both confirmed for the 2021 contest.

How did you like these Junior Eurovision facts? Did any of them surprise you? Maybe you have some more facts you would like to share! Let us know in the comments below and don’t forget to follow us on social media for all the latest (Junior) Eurovision news, reviews and more!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Eurovoxx Youtube Channel